Facilities Master Plan Steering Committee

  • Charge
    The Iowa City Community School District is currently engaging its community in a facility master planning process. This process will be implemented with the assistance of BLDD Architects and will involve extensive community involvement. As a part of that process, the Facilities Master Planning Steering Committee is charged with the following: review assessment results and provide input on frameworks within which needs can be prioritized, brainstorm potential solutions, evaluate options utilizing the Quantified Learning Environment Outcomes (QLEO) master plan modeling and analysis software, and prepare recommendations for the School Board.


    • ICCSD Board Facilities Committee Chair, Mr. Jeff McGinness*
    • ICCSD Chief Operating Officer, Dr. David Dude*
    • ICCSD Physical Plant Director, Mr. Duane Van Hemert
    • BLDD Representatives, Ms. Barbara Meek and Mr. Sam Johnson
    • Practicing ICCSD Elementary Teacher, Ms. Ann Dillard (Longfellow)
    • Practicing ICCSD Secondary Teachers, Ms. Danelle Knoche (City), Ms. Joye Walker (West)
    • Representatives from the ICCSD DPO, Ms. Shari Shaffer (Coralville Central), Ms. Sara Baron (Wood)
    • Representative from the facilities department of University of Iowa, Kirkwood, ACT, or Pearson, Tom Kaldenberg
    • Representative selected by the Iowa City Area Development Group, Ms. DaLayne Williamson
    • Representative selected by the Iowa City City Council, Ms. Michelle Payne
    • Representative selected by the Coralville City Council, Mr. Mitch Gross
    • Representative selected by the University Heights City Council, Ms. Rosanne Hopson
    • Representative selected by the North Liberty City Council, Mr. Chris Hoffman
    • Representative selected by the Hills City Council, Mr. Tim Kemp
    • Representative selected by the Johnson County Board of Supervisors, Mr. Rod Sullivan
    • Representative selected by the Cedar Rapids/Iowa City Building Trades Council, Mr. Royce Peterson
    • Representative selected by the Iowa City Area Chamber of Commerce, Mr. Alex Taylor

    *Co-Chairs of Steering Committee

    Ex-Officio Members

    • Other Board members
    • Other ICCSD Administrators

    Committee members commit to the following:

    • Five committee meetings, approximately 4 hours each in evenings, February through May
    • Participation in one of three day-long visioning workshops in early April
    • Participation in one of three day-long master planning workshops in early May
    • Honest and open deliberation taking into account needs district-wide