What is a GSA?

  • gsa

    Gender Sexuality Alliance or a Gay Straight Alliance (GSA) is a student-led or community-based organization, found in middle and high schools as well as colleges and universities,  that are intended to provide a safe and supportive environment for LGBTQIA youth (or those who are perceived as such) and their straight allies. 

GSA By School

  • City High School 
    GLOW:
     Glow is available to all students wanting to create a safe school environment for the LGBTQ community. Members of this group strive to educate City High about LGBT issues and to spread positive messages. 
    Meeting Time:
    Monday at 4:00pm via Zoom 
    Sponsor: Tony Balcaen (balcaen.tony@iowacityschools.org)
    Co Sponsor:
    Jill Humston (humston.jill@iowacityschools.org)

    Liberty High
    PRISM: PRISM focuses on inclusivity and acceptance in our community. Our goal is to create a safe and empowering environment within our school by educating teachers and students on minority issues and discussing problems within the community. Open to all!
    Meeting Time: Every Tuesday after school 
    Sponsor: Jennifer Saylor (saylor.jennifer@iowacityschools.org) & Melissa Nies (nies.melissa@iowacityschools.org)

    Tate High School
    Glitter Club
    Glitter Club is an all inclusive, supportive, safe place for students to meet and talk about issues. We have weekly topics, hold fund raisers, help with school functions, and attend the yearly LGBTQIA+  Youth Governor’s Conference. It is a fun and chill space to meet friends, eat snacks, and feel loved for being you!
    Meeting Time: TBA
    Sponsor: Jamie Ellis (jamie.ellis@unitedactionforyouth.org)

    West High School
    Colors
    Meeting Time: Wednesdays @ 4:15pm Room 104
    Sponsor: Kerri Barnhouse (barnhouse.kerri@iowacityschools.org), Travis Henderson (henderson.travis@iowacityschools.org) & Annie Gudenkauf (Annie.Gudenkauf@unitedactionforyouth.org)

    North Central Junior High School
    NCJH GSA:
    NCJH GSA is for anyone who is any LGBTQ+ identity or preference, or an ally. This is an open and accepting environment that is a safe place to talk and have a good time.
    Meeting Time: 
    TBA
    Sponsor:
    Jessica Bovey (bovey.jessica@iowacityschools.org)

    Northwest Junior High School
    Colors Club
    Colors Club is a community organizing the loving of others regardless of sexuality. We offer a safe, educational space for LGBTQ folks and allies.
    Meeting Time: 
    Thursdays at 5:00pm via Zoom
    Sponsor
    Lauren Darby (darby.lauren@iowacityschools.org)

    Southeast Junior High School
    GLOW Club 
    The mission of the SE Glow club is to educate the community about LGBTQIA issues; to build and support acceptance for everyone; to work to end bullying, harassment, and ignorant behavior in our school; to empower people to love themselves, and to be supportive friends to each other.
    Meeting Time: 
    TBA
    Sponsor
    Sara Jones (jones.sara@iowacityschools.org)