Skip To Main Content

Schools Trigger

Weglot Trigger

Mobile CTAs

Header Right

Utility Container

Schools Trigger

container-btn weglot-trigger

Search Trigger

Search Container

Schools Nav

Pinned CTAs

Home School Program

The Home School Assistance Program (HSAP) offers optional, drop-in enrichment classes (P.E., Art, Library, STEAM, etc.), field trips, access to local performances at Hancher and the Coralville Center for the Performing Arts, guest speakers, and much more! Our HSAP supervising teachers teach enrichment classes as well as provide regular support for parent-educators through quarterly contact meetings. The HSAP supervising teachers do not teach core curriculum, HSAP student’s curriculum will be chosen and taught by the parents or a hired teacher. The HSAP supervising teachers support parent-educators and help answer questions they may have.

Participation in the HSAP requires four contacts/quarter with one of our supervising teachers. Two of the four contacts can be through attendance in our enrichment classes and activities, participation in screenings and assessments or through email check-ins, and two/quarter must be a face-to-face meeting with a supervising teacher.

Contact us


HSAP Staff

Kate Callahan, Director of Student Services
callahan.kate@iowacityschools.org

Chris Pisarik, HSAP Site Administrator
pisarik.chris@iowacityschools.org

Emily Minnie, Secretary
minnie.emily@iowacityschools.org

Linda Johnson, HSAP Librarian
johnson.linda@iowacityschools.org

Supervising Teachers

Amy Baum
baum.amy@iowacityschools.org

Kay Devine
devine.kay@iowacityschools.org

Joshua Flammang
flammang.joshua@iowacityschools.org

Our Location

The HSAP Center is located at:
1400 Grissel Place
Iowa City, IA 52245

We are located in the first building to your right when you enter the Shimek Elementary driveway.

HSAP Library &
Office Hours

The HSAP office and library are open by appointment, please contact the building secretary to set one up.