Before and After School and Summer Programs (BASP)

  • Each of the 21 elementary schools in the Iowa City Community School District has an on-site program to provide before and after school and summer care. The District has established strong partnerships with community providers who deliver high quality programs.

    Many programs have a waiting list, as the demand for before and after school care is great. The BASP Directors have developed a common BASP entry and waiting list strategy with cohesive entry dates and waiting list practices across the District. This strategy allows parents and community members to have an understanding of the entrance process.

    BASP enrollment applications vary by program. Please contact the BASP Director at the school in which your child(ren) are, or will be, enrolled for information. The full BASP Director contact list can be found below.

    BASP Enrollment Timeline for the 2019–20 School Year

    BASP Enrollment Priorities

    1. Current enrollees (and their incoming kindergarten siblings)
    2. Current enrollees who have been zoned to a new attendance center for the 2019–20 school year (and their incoming kindergarten siblings)
    3. New families

    January 1 – January 31, 2019

    All families currently enrolled in a BASP program will re-enroll for the 2019–20 school year, including younger siblings of current enrollees. Identified priorities:

    1. Current enrollees (and their incoming kindergarten siblings)
    2. Current enrollees who have been zoned to a new attendance center for the 2019–20 school year (and their incoming kindergarten siblings)

    February 1, 2019

    Families currently enrolled in a BASP, who have completed a re-enrollment application at their current or new attendance center, will be notified if the BASP will be able to serve them. A lottery draw will occur if the number of currently enrolled families, coming from the previous attendance center, exceeds the number of spots available. The remaining families will move to a waiting list and receive top priority for future enrollments. 

    February 15 – March 31, 2019

    Programs will accept enrollment applications for new families. If the program cannot accommodate all of the new applicants, a lottery list of new families will be generated from this pool of applicants.

    April 1, 2019

    If spots still remain, a lottery draw, in front of office personnel, will occur. All others will move to a waiting list (which remains in place for the 2019–20 school year).

Program Contact Information

Building Contact Name Phone Website Waiting List? E-Mail
Alexander Elementary Erik Nelson, Mel Hostetler Office: (319) 688-1001, EXT 4486 Nelson cell: (402) 601-3915 Hostetler cell: (515) 835-1648 No,
Borlaug Elementary Amy Erickson (319) 248-9393 Yes
Coralville Central Elementary Tammy Osterhaus (319) 530-6287 Yes
Garner Elementary Cody Embree (319) 930-0290 No
Grant Elementary Nicole Ladehoff (319) 621-5388 No
Hills Elementary Jaquanda Franklin (319) 400-8171 No
Hoover Elementary (Barrington Rd.) Kelsey Shemanski (319) 621-1484 No
Horn Elementary Mandy Meyer (319) 800-8837 No,
Kirkwood Elementary Abbie Knight, Tasia McCloskey (319) 331-7888 No,
Lemme Elementary Tyler Kivell (319) 325-5661 Yes
Lincoln Elementary Eddie Rosenquist (319) 430-4196 Yes
Longfellow Elementary Caitlyn Jones (319) 330-2668 No
Lucas Elementary Sara Pauley (319) 621-8962 No
Mann Elementary Theresa Rensimer (319) 325-4080 No
Penn Elementary Deb Pierson (319) 626-2373 Yes
Shimek Elementary Matt Larson (319) 325-4839 No
Twain Elementary Janay Jones (319) 530-1748 No
Van Allen Elementary Erica Eichhorn (319) 621-8134 Yes
Weber Elementary Tosha Troutman (319) 530-1494 Yes
Wickham Elementary Travis Mai (319) 248-1750 Yes
Grant Wood Elementary Olanthda Fields Office: (319) 688-1001, EXT. 7697 Cell: (319) 499-7461 No

Other Contacts

Affiliation Contact Name Title Phone Email
Neighborhood Centers of Johnson County Allison Fuhrmeister Youth Program Director (319) 354-2886
Iowa Department of Human Services Heidi Brown Child Care Licensing Consultant (563) 263-9302 Ext. 1025
Iowa City Community School District Lora Daily Director of Learning Supports (319) 688-1000
Iowa City Community School District Joan VandenBerg Youth & Family Development Coordinator (319) 688-1000
Iowa City Community School District Amy Minteer Director of Extended Day Learning (319) 688-1000
Discover Champions Mona Williams Champions Area Manager (319) 504-3408