Before and After School and Summer Programs (BASP)

  • Each of the 21 elementary schools in the Iowa City Community School District has an on-site program to provide before and after school and summer care. The District has established strong partnerships with community providers who deliver high quality programs.

    Many programs have a waiting list, as the demand for before and after school care is great. The BASP Directors have developed a common BASP entry and waiting list strategy with cohesive entry dates and waiting list practices across the District. This strategy allows parents and community members to have an understanding of the entrance process.

    BASP enrollment applications vary by program. Please contact the BASP Director at the school in which your child(ren) are, or will be, enrolled for information. The full BASP Director contact list can be found below.

    BASP Enrollment Timeline for the 2019–20 School Year


    BASP Enrollment Priorities

    1. Current enrollees (and their incoming kindergarten siblings)
    2. Current enrollees who have been zoned to a new attendance center for the 2019–20 school year (and their incoming kindergarten siblings)
    3. New families


    January 1 – January 31, 2019

    All families currently enrolled in a BASP program will re-enroll for the 2019–20 school year, including younger siblings of current enrollees. Identified priorities:

    1. Current enrollees (and their incoming kindergarten siblings)
    2. Current enrollees who have been zoned to a new attendance center for the 2019–20 school year (and their incoming kindergarten siblings)


    February 1, 2019

    Families currently enrolled in a BASP, who have completed a re-enrollment application at their current or new attendance center, will be notified if the BASP will be able to serve them. A lottery draw will occur if the number of currently enrolled families, coming from the previous attendance center, exceeds the number of spots available. The remaining families will move to a waiting list and receive top priority for future enrollments. 

    February 15 – March 31, 2019

    Programs will accept enrollment applications for new families. If the program cannot accommodate all of the new applicants, a lottery list of new families will be generated from this pool of applicants.

    April 1, 2019

    If spots still remain, a lottery draw, in front of office personnel, will occur. All others will move to a waiting list (which remains in place for the 2019–20 school year).

Program Contact Information

Building Contact Name Phone Website Waiting List? E-Mail
Alexander Elementary Erik Nelson, Mel Hostetler Office: (319) 688-1001, EXT 4486 Nelson cell: (402) 601-3915 Hostetler cell: (515) 835-1648 http://www.NCJC.org No erik-nelson@ncjc.org, hostetler.mel@iowacityschools.org
Borlaug Elementary Amy Erickson (319) 248-9393 http://www.coralville.org Yes aerickson@coralville.org
Coralville Central Elementary Tammy Osterhaus (319) 530-6287 http://www.iowacityschools.org/CentralCaresBASP No ccbasp@gmail.com
Garner Elementary Cody Embree (319) 930-0290 http://www.NCJC.org Yes cody-embree@ncjc.org
Grant Elementary Kyle Gardiner (319) 621-5388 http://www.discoverchampions.com Ch001395@discoverchampions.com
Hills Elementary Jaquanda Franklin (319) 400-8171 http://www.NCJC.org No jaquanda-franklin@ncjc.org
Hoover Elementary (Barrington Rd.) Kelsey Shemanski (319) 621-1484 http://www.discoverchampions.com ch001394@discoverchampions.com
Horn Elementary Mandy Meyer (319) 800-8837 https://sites.google.com/site/hornextendedday/ Yes edphorn@gmail.com, hornedpdirector@gmail.com
Kirkwood Elementary Abbie Knight, Tasia McCloskey (319) 331-7888 No kirkwoodkares@yahoo.com, mccloskey.tasia@iowacityschools.org
Lemme Elementary Tyler Kivell (319) 325-5661 http://www.iowacityschools.org/LemmeBASP Yes basplemme@gmail.com
Lincoln Elementary Eddie Rosenquist (319) 430-4196 http://www.Lincoln-basp.org No lincolnbasp@gmail.com
Longfellow Elementary Caitlyn Jones (319) 330-2668 http://www.longfellowkey.com Yes longfellowkey@gmail.com
Lucas Elementary Sara Pauley (319) 621-8962 http://www.DiscoverChampions.com No ch001606@discoverchampions.com
Mann Elementary Theresa Rensimer (319) 325-4080 http://www.mannbasp.com/ No mannbasp@gmail.com
Penn Elementary Deb Pierson (319) 626-2373 https://sites.google.com/view/pennbaspnorthliberty/ Yes pennbasp@gmail.com
Shimek Elementary Matt Larson (319) 325-4839 http://www.shimekbasp.com No shimekbasp@gmail.com
Twain Elementary Janay Jones (319) 530-1748 http://www.NCJC.org No janay-jones@ncjc.org
Van Allen Elementary Erica Eichhorn (319) 621-8134 http://www.coralville.org Yes eeichhorn@coralville.org
Weber Elementary Tosha Troutman (319) 530-1494 Yes weberbasp@gmail.com
Wickham Elementary Travis Mai (319) 248-1750 http://www.coralville.org Yes tmai@coralville.org
Grant Wood Elementary Olanthda Fields Office: (319) 688-1001, EXT. 7697 Cell: (319) 499-7461 http://www.NCJC.org No olanthda-fields@ncjc.org

Other Contacts

Affiliation Contact Name Title Phone Email
Neighborhood Centers of Johnson County Allison Fuhrmeister Youth Program Director (319) 354-2886 allison-fuhrmeister@ncjc.org
Iowa Department of Human Services Heidi Brown Child Care Licensing Consultant (563) 263-9302 Ext. 1025 hbrown@dhs.state.ia.us
Iowa City Community School District Lora Daily Director of Learning Supports (319) 688-1000 daily.lora@iowacityschools.org
Iowa City Community School District Joan VandenBerg Youth & Family Development Coordinator (319) 688-1000 vandenberg.joan@iowacityschools.org
Iowa City Community School District Amy Minteer Director of Extended Day Learning (319) 688-1000 minteer.amy@iowacityschools.org
Discover Champions Mona Williams Champions Area Manager (319) 504-3408 monwilliams@discoverchampions.com