Return to Headlines

District Announces 2023 National Merit Semifinalists

Officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) have announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 68th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The Iowa City Community School District is proud to announce that the following seniors in the District have earned this honor:

City High School:
Jared Morse

Liberty High School:
Marcus Brintle, David Donald, Noah Egge, Eric Lucas, Maxwell Thompson, Grace Wang, Ronan Wendtgeisler

West High School:
River Allou, Nathan Chen, Fanshuo Cheng, Kyle Chi, Maya Chu, Henry Dai, James Dickens, Heidi Du, Saara Engineer, Jonathan Fan, Katherine Gleason, Alyssa Hagiwara, Anish Lodh, Hanae Matsumoto, Vivian Polgreen, Aman Reddy, Anne Schwartz, Ashley Seo, Jayden Shin, Lydia Shin, Carlo Tran, Natalie Urmie, Nathan Weimar, Catherine Yang

To be named as National Merit Semifinalists, these seniors scored among the top one percent of students nationwide on the 2021 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

The Iowa City Community School District has 31 Semifinalists, with one Semifinalist from City High School, seven Semifinalists from Liberty High School, and 23 Semifinalists from West High School.

Congratulations to West High School for having the most National Merit Semifinalists in the state of Iowa. 

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for Merit Scholarship awards that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements and advance to the Finalist level of the competition.

To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and a high school official must submit a detailed application, which includes information about the student's academic record, activities, leadership abilities, employment, and honors received. A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT® or ACT® scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2023 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July. These scholarship recipients will join nearly 368,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title.

City High Semifinalists:

Jared Morse

Liberty High Semifinalists:

Back Row Left to Right: Eric Lucas, Ronan Wendtgeisler, Marcus Brintle, Maxwell Thompson
Front Row Left to Right: Grace Wang, Noah Egge, David Donald

West High Semifinalists:

Row 1 (L to R): Hanae Matsumoto, Alyssa Hagiwara, Lydia Shin, Catherine Yang, Vivian Polgreen
Row 2 (L to R): Ashley Seo, Saara Engineer, Anne Schwartz,  Maya Chu, Heidi Du
Row 3 (L to R): Natalie Urmie, Katherine Gleason, Henry Dai, Kyle Chi, Anish Lodh
Row 4 (L to R): River Allou, Fanshuo Cheng, Nathan Chen, Carlo Tran, James Dickens
Row 5 (L to R): Nathan Weimar, Aman Reddy, Jayden Shin, Jonathan Fan